Community Fund sharing Land Rights wealth base

25 May, 2016

Community Fund sharing Land Rights wealth base

25 May 2016

Thirteen Local Aboriginal Land Councils are getting on with the job of caring for country under a new NSW Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) funding program.

NSWALC Chair Roy Ah-See said the Community Fund provided for funding of up to $50,000 to acquire and manage land.

Cr Ah-See said the Fund aimed to ensure all Local Aboriginal Land Councils share in the wealth of the land rights network.

"In New South Wales we have 120 Local Aboriginal Land Councils. Some hold more valuable land holdings and others have less valuable land and development opportunities. The Community Fund ensures eligible Local Aboriginal Land Councils can share in the wealth of those that enjoy a strong economic base," he said.

The successful Local Aboriginal Land Councils are:

Amaroo (Northern) Anaiwan (Northern)
Baradine (North-West) Bega (South Coast)
Biraban (Sydney-Newcastle) Broken Hill (Western)
Dareton (Western) Jubullum (North Coast)
Orange (Wiradjuri) Trangie (Central)
Wagonga (Southern) Weilwan (Central)
Wellington (Central)

The fund is generated by a levy on Local Aboriginal Land Council land dealings with matching contributions by NSWALC. It was introduced following an amendment to the Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983.

Applications for the current round of the Community Fund are currently being assessed.

Media contact: Andrew Williams 0429 525 291


We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of the lands where we work as well as across the lands we travel through. We also acknowledge our Elders past, present and emerging.

Artwork Credit: Craig Cromelin, from a painting he did titled, "4 favourite fishing holes". It is a snippet of his growing years on the Lachlan River, featuring yabby, turtle, fish and family.