New faces for NSW Aboriginal Land Council leadership

4 November, 2015

4 November 2015

New faces for NSW Aboriginal Land Council leadership

The NSW Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) has welcomed the election of nine Councillors following elections held on Saturday, 31 October.

Three new Councillors were elected - in Northern, South Coast and Western regions - with six retaining their positions.

Following declaration of election results by the NSW Electoral Commission, the Council will comprise:

  • Central - Cr Stephen Ryan (Dubbo Local Aboriginal Land Council)
  • Mid-North Coast - Cr Peter Smith (Purfleet-Taree)
  • North Coast - Cr Tina Williams (Ngulingah)
  • North-Western - Cr Anne Dennis (Walgett)
  • Northern - Cr Charles Lynch (Nungaroo)
  • South Coast - Cr Danny Chapman (Mogo)
  • Sydney/Newcastle - Cr Roy Ah-See (Darkinjung)
  • Western - Cr William Murray (Wilcannia)
  • Wiradjuri - Cr Craig Cromelin (Murrin Bridge)

Electoral figures for each region are available at

NSWALC Chief Executive Officer Lesley Turner said elected Councillors were responsible for setting the strategic direction of NSWALC and making decisions on a range of important issues affecting Aboriginal people in New South Wales.

Mr Turner said the new Council would convene its first formal meeting on Wednesday, 18 November.

The new Council will elect a Chair and Deputy Chair to lead NSWALC.

Mr Turner thanked outgoing Councillors - Tom Briggs in Northern Region, who did not contest the election, Des Jones in Western Region and Jack Hampton in South Coast region - for their contribution.

"Tom Briggs, Des Jones and Jack Hampton served NSWALC admirably, providing great stability, local leadership and strong decision-making.

"As Councillors, Tom Briggs, Des Jones and Jack Hampton provided great leadership to Aboriginal people in their regions.

"I'm sure they will continue to be active in further strengthening the best Land Rights system in Australia.

"NSWALC also congratulates Local Aboriginal Land Council members for increasing voter turnout in the State-wide elections held on Saturday.

"Voter turnout for this year's election increased by 7 percent compared to the 2011 election.

"Voting in NSWALC elections is not compulsory, like many other membership-based organisations, so to have more than 33 percent of our members turn out on Saturday and vote for Land Rights is a great achievement."

Media contact: Andrew Williams 0429 585 291


We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of the lands where we work as well as across the lands we travel through. We also acknowledge our Elders past, present and emerging.

Artwork Credit: Craig Cromelin, from a painting he did titled, "4 favourite fishing holes". It is a snippet of his growing years on the Lachlan River, featuring yabby, turtle, fish and family.