46 candidates to contest NSWALC Elections on 31 October

8 October, 2015

8 October 2015

46 candidates to contest NSWALC Elections on 31 October

Eligible voting members of Local Aboriginal Land Councils will choose from a field of 46 candidates contesting the NSW Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) Election to be held on Saturday, 31 October.

Nominations for candidates closed yesterday for the Election, which will see the election of nine councillors to four-year terms.

The declared candidates and their affiliated LALCs are:

Central Region

Neville Brown (Wellington)

Bernadette Riley (Dubbo)

Rod Towney (Dubbo)

Grace Toomey (Dubbo)

Stephen Ryan (Dubbo)

Darren Toomey (Dubbo)

Barry Smith (Wellington)

Anthony Amatto (Dubbo)

Mid-North Coast Region

Bronwyn Leon (Nambucca)

Phillip Hall (Bowraville)

Peter Smith (Purfleet/Taree)

Dave Feeney (Karuah)

Chris Spencer (Coffs Harbour)

Reuben Robinson (Coffs Harbour)

North Coast Region

Wesley Fernando (Grafton-Ngerrie)

Tina Williams (Ngulingah)

Heather Jacky (Ngulingah)

Lisa Bolt (Jali)

Trevor Kapeen (Yaegl)

Robert Monaghan (Baryugil)

North Western Region 

Ghillar Eckford (Goodooga)

Eddie Pitt (Moree)

Anne Dennis (Walgett)

Craig Britt (Goodooga)

Joe Flick (Collarenebri)

Northern Region

  Charles Lynch (Nungaroo)

Gregory Livermore (Anaiwan)

South Coast Region

  Shane Carriage (Ulladulla)

Danny Chapman (Mogo)

Jack Hampton (Nowra)

Vivienne Mason (Wagonga)

Julie Moore (Jerringa)

Basil Smith (Batemans Bay)

Sydney-Newcastle Region

  Chris Ingrey (La Perouse)

Joshua Toomey (Darkingjung)

Theresa Malone (Gandangara)

Roy Ah-See (Darkingjung)

Craig Foreshew (Darkingjung)

Western Region

  Des Jones (Dareton)

William Murray (Wilcannia)

Warlpa Thompson (Mutawintji)

Wiradjuri Region

Craig Cromelin (Murrin Bridge)

Tommy Smith (Cowra)

Leeanne Hampton (West Wyalong)

Denise Williams (Brungle/Tumut)

Trevor Robinson (Peak Hill)

For further details visit http://www.elections.nsw.gov.au/alc_election/nominations

NSWALC Chief Executive Officer Lesley Turner urged eligible voters to ensure they had their say in this year's election.

"Voting gives Local Aboriginal Land Council members a say in how decisions about land, housing, culture and economic development benefit local communities.

"The Councillors our members elect are responsible for setting the strategic direction of NSWALC and making decisions on a range of important issues affecting Aboriginal people in New South Wales," he said.

To ensure Land Council members can have their say, they should check with their LALC to see if they are eligible to vote at the election.

Voting will take place at nominated polling booths between 8am and 6pm on Saturday, 31 October 2015. In some regions, certain polling places are open for part of the day only. For the full list of polling places and opening times visit http://www.elections.nsw.gov.au/alc_election/polling_places

Eligible voters who are unable to attend on polling day can lodge a postal vote, which is available from today.

People can apply for a postal vote by downloading and completing a postal vote application from http://www.elections.nsw.gov.au/alc_election/voting/postal_voting. Applications to cast a postal vote must be received by the NSW Electoral Commission by 5pm, Friday 23 October to ensure the NSW Electoral Commission can send ballot papers and instructions to eligible voters.

For more information about the election, visit http://www.elections.nsw.gov.au/alc_election and /land-councils/2015-nswalc-election.aspx

Media contact: Andrew Williams 0429 585 291


We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of the lands where we work as well as across the lands we travel through. We also acknowledge our Elders past, present and emerging.

Artwork Credit: Craig Cromelin, from a painting he did titled, "4 favourite fishing holes". It is a snippet of his growing years on the Lachlan River, featuring yabby, turtle, fish and family.