Candidates Finalised for NSWALC Election

23 December, 2019

6 November 2019

Candidates Finalised for NSWALC Election

Fifty-one candidates have nominated to contest the New South Wales Aboriginal Land Council elections on Saturday, 30 November.

Polling booths will be set up across eight of the nine regions to elect the new Council to represent the NSWALC membership for the next four years.

Current Deputy Chair Charles Lynch has retained his position as the Councillor for the Northern region after nominating as an uncontested candidate.

“I’d like to congratulate Councillor Lynch on being retained and I welcome the news that he will be staying on Council for another four-year term,” NSWALC CEO James Christian said.

“He has been a strong voice for Aboriginal people in his Northern region and more broadly as a Councillor he has been advocate for the strategic goals that NSWALC has set to achieve on behalf of all Aboriginal people in New South Wales.”

The most hotly contested region is the North Coast with eleven candidates nominating.

In Sydney / Newcastle the election will be fought out by eight candidates.

Incumbents nominated in seven of the nine regions, with the Central and Wiradjuri regions to elect a first-time councillor.

“I’d like to pay tribute and respect to two of our longest serving Councillors, Craig Cromelin and Stephen Ryan who have confirmed they will not be standing as candidates in the next election,” Mr Christian said.

“Their service to NSWALC and the Land Rights movement is immeasurable and as two formers Chairs of the Council, they have both left a lasting legacy which they should be incredibly proud of.”

“However, their decision to not contest the election creates an opportunity for a new Councillor to represent the Central and Wiradjuri regions which is an exciting prospect for the Council and its members.”

Polling booth locations have been established across the state, with pre-polling and postal voting options also available.

Further information about the NSWALC elections including candidates, voting eligibility and polling booth locations can be found on the NSWEC website:

Candidates, in order of ballot draw are:

1. Craig Britt
2. Neville Brown
3. Barry Smith
4. Grace Toomey
5. Anthony Amatto

Mid North Coast
1. Cheryl Davis
2. Noke Lockwood
3. Peter Smith
4. Dave Feeney
5. Phillip Hall

North Coast
1. Tracy King
2. Dallas Donnelly
3. Bill Drew
4. Cindy Roberts-Foster
5. Patricia Laurie
6. Mary Torrens-Bell
7. Robert Appo
8. Brett Tibbett
9. Hickling Roberts
10. Kathleen Bolt
11. Tina Williams

North Western
1. John McGregor
2. Bill Kennedy
3. Karen Craigie
4. Joe Flick
5. George Orcher
6. Anne Dennis

Uncontested – Charles Lynch

South Coast
1. Danny Chapman
2. Blaan Davies
3. Basil Smith
4. Cheryl Moreton

Sydney Newcastle
1. Abie Wright
2. Barry Gunther
3. Michael Green
4. B J Duncan
5. Ann Weldon
6. Craig Foreshew
7. Athol Smith
8. Theresa Malone

1. Denise O’Donnell
2. Keith Ferguson
3. Warlpa Thompson
4. Monica Kerwin
5. Owen Whyman
6. William Murray
7. Ross Hampton
8. Peter Murphy

1. Bradley Bell
2. James Ingram
3. Leanne Hampton


We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of the lands where we work as well as across the lands we travel through. We also acknowledge our Elders past, present and emerging.

Artwork Credit: Craig Cromelin, from a painting he did titled, "4 favourite fishing holes". It is a snippet of his growing years on the Lachlan River, featuring yabby, turtle, fish and family.