Applications open – 2017 Round of NSWALC Community Fund Grants

16 February, 2017

Applications open - 2017 Round of NSWALC Community Fund Grants

16 February 2017 

The NSW Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) is pleased to announce that applications from eligible LALCs are now being sought for the 2017 round of NSWALC Community Fund Grants.

The NSWALC Community Fund

The NSWALC Community Fund is financed through the Community Development Levy, which was introduced in the 2009 amendment to the Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983 to redistribute wealth from LALCS with more valuable land holdings to those with less valuable land and development opportunities.

The NSWALC Community Fund Policy outlines what grants from the NSWALC Community Fund can be used for, how LALC eligibility is determined, and on what basis grant applications will be assessed.

Grants of up to $50,000 (excluding GST) are on offer for projects that seek to deliver community development outcomes under the following categories:

  • Land acquisition
  • Land management

2017 Funding Round 

The application period for the 2017 round of NSWALC Community Fund Grants will be open from 14 February 2017 until 5pm on Friday, 14 April 2017.

The total amount available to distribute in the 2017 round is $746,000 (ex GST).

How to apply 

The first step for interested applicants is to confirm that their LALC is eligible to apply. The NSWALC Community Fund Policy stipulates that only less advantaged LALCs are eligible for grants, with 'less advantaged' defined as having net land assets (not including jointly managed National Parks or former missions and reserves) worth less than the Local Aboriginal Land Council network average.

NSWALC will advise all LALCs of their eligibility to apply.

Eligible applicants can access the application form and accompanying Application Guidelines on the NSWALC website: /nswalc-in-the-community/community-fund.aspx

The Application Guidelines contain important information about how LALCs can complete and submit an application for a NSWALC Community Fund Grant. It is essential that LALCs carefully read this document prior to starting work on their applications.

Completed application forms and supporting documents should be submitted via e-mail to no later than 5pm on Friday 14 April 2017.

Previous Projects

The 21 projects awarded funding in the 2016 grant round were:

  • Armidale LALC: Ancillary work for the Mt Yarrowyck Nature Reserve Schedule 14 negotiations
  • Bathurst LALC: Bathurst LALC office infrastructure upgrade
  • Birrigan Gargle LALC: Beautification and restoration of Pippi Beach community
  • Brungle Tumut LALC: Purchase equipment for land management
  • Collarenebri LALC: Construction of a toilet facility at the Collarenebri Aboriginal Burial Ground for local families and visitors
  • Coonabarabran LALC: Boundary fencing at Burra Bee Dee Mission and Happy Valley Fringe Camp
  • Cummeragunja LALC: Cummeragunja Community Hall
  • Dorrigo LALC: Restoration of North Dorrigo Hall and land maintenance
  • Griffith LALC: Old Griffith Police Station upgrade project
  • Hay LALC: Hay LALC community space upgrade
  • Menindee LALC: Menindee LALC office infrastructure upgrade
  • Moree LALC: Preserving Aboriginal cultural heritage and environmental values through land management
  • Murrin Bridge LALC: Barooga Karrai kickstart
  • Ngulingah LALC: Cubbawee infrastructure project
  • Tibooburra LALC: Tibooburra LALC Museum and Keeping Place expansion
  • Trangie LALC: Trangie LALC vacant land management project
  • Warren Macquarie LALC: Linking the Beemunnel Aboriginal Reserve, Tiger Bay Wetlands and the Window on the Wetlands Centre
  • West Wyalong LALC: Aboriginal Artefacts Museum
  • Wilcannia LALC: Wilcannia LALC Community Centre
  • Yaegl LALC: Ulugundahi Island restoration project
  • Young LALC: Young LALC refurbishment and renovations

The 13 projects awarded funding in the inaugural 2015 grant round were:

  • Amaroo LALC: Land management at Summervale Reserve
  • Anaiwan LALC: Reconnect to country: Old Bottom
  • Baradine LALC: Calooma Station Restoration Project
  • Bega LALC: Managing our lands: Access control
  • Biraban LALC: Biraban Aboriginal-owned lands access diversion project
  • Broken Hill LALC: BHLALC office infrastructure upgrade
  • Dareton LALC: Namatjira Reserve land management program
  • Jubullum LALC: Jubullum Village roads project
  • Orange LALC: Balandha - Shadforth community access project
  • Trangie LALC: Trangie cultural centre for education, history and heritage
  • Wagonga LALC: Paradise Point: Sharing our culture and heritage, Stage 2
  • Weilwan LALC: Cultural gathering space and Gulargambone Old Reserve land management
  • Wellington LALC:   Purchase of Nanima Primary School to establish 'Nanima Education and Wellbeing Centre' and remove asbestos

More information

If you have any questions about the application process, please contact the NSWALC Policy and Programs Unit on 02 9689 4444 or email .   


We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of the lands where we work as well as across the lands we travel through. We also acknowledge our Elders past, present and emerging.

Artwork Credit: Craig Cromelin, from a painting he did titled, "4 favourite fishing holes". It is a snippet of his growing years on the Lachlan River, featuring yabby, turtle, fish and family.