The 2009 amendments to the Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983  introduced the Community Development Levy to "evenly spread the wealth from land councils with more valuable land holdings to those councils with less valuable land and development opportunities".

This mechanism levies certain LALC land dealings and, with matching contributions from NSWALC, generates funds in the NSWALC Community Fund. Monies from the NSWALC Community Fund are to be made available "on the basis of need so as to increase resources and assets available for less advantaged Local Aboriginal Land Councils".

The Council of NSWALC has developed the  NSWALC Community Fund Policycurrently under review, sets out what grants from the NSWALC Community Fund can be used for, how LALC eligibility is determined, and on what basis grant applications will be assessed.

Eligible LALCs can apply for grants of up to $50,000  (ex GST) for the following purposes:

  • Land acquisition, where all other avenues for funding have been exhausted; and
  • Land management, in relation to land in which the LALC has a legal interest.

Only less advantaged LALCs are eligible for grants, with 'less advantaged' defined as having net land assets (not including jointly managed National Parks or former missions and reserves) worth less than the Local Aboriginal Land Council network average.


2019 Funding Round

NSWALC has determined that with four years of the NSWALC Community Fund now implemented, it was timely to undertake an independent strategic review of the Community Fund Policy & Procedures. The review, which many LALCs have provided comment to, sought to understand the economy, efficiency and effectiveness of the Community Fund Policy in addressing the needs of LALCs and achieving its purpose. 


How to apply

Information on how to apply for a grant from the NSWALC Community Fund will be distributed to the network following the completion of the review and subsequent decision of Council. In the meantime, we have compiled a list of alternative grant opportunities and provided tips on writing successful grant applications below. 


More information

If you have any questions, please contact the NSWALC Program Implementation Unit on (02) 9689 4444 or email


Approved Grants for the 2018 Round

  • Moama:  Office Renovations
  • Guyra:  Upgrade Guyra LALC office to meet safety standards
  • Cobar:  Acquisition of two vacant residential allotments
  • Tamworth:  Refurbishment of accommodation facilities at Trelawney
  • Merrimans:  Merrimans young persons Caring for Country Volunteers Project
  • Walhallow:  Walhallow local community grounds and surrounds continued maintenance and beautification and helping community during funerals
  • Jana Ngalee:  Alice Land Management - Cropping
  • Coonamble:  Coonamble LALC office renovations
  • Nyngan:  Titanic Drive Rehabilitation
  • Grafton-Ngerrie:  Upgrade to Grafton LALC office
  • Walgett:  Upgrade Community Hubs on Gingie and Namoi Reserves
  • Ngambri:  Mirabee River Cultural Camp Upgrade and scope of works for land management
  • Mutawintji:  Completion of Indigenous Land Corporation Renovation Project
  • Young:  Disabled access and professional filing space
  • Tibooburra:  Additional ablution block at TLALC historic reserve camp ground
  • Dareton:  Community Hub Namatjira Reserve
  • Glenn Innes:  Purchase of All Terrain (UTV) Vehicle, tractor mower, two portable shower units & water tanks
  • Wilcannia:  Community Caring for Country Hub


Approved Grants for the 2017 Round

  • Weilmoringle:  Renovations to Weilmoringle LALC Office
  • Murrawarri:  Native Bushfood Production Project
  • West Wyalong:  Bunbinya Balugirbang (Rest Ancestors)
  • Mutawintji:  Place basic infrastructure on land in preparation for future development plans
  • Brewarrina:  Old Brewarrina Mission Restoration Project
  • Cummeragunja:  Cummeragunja Community Hall: Stage 2
  • Young:  Male & Female Toilets and Office Facelift
  • Moombahlene:  Gunimaa Bush Tucker Nursery
  • Nungaroo:  New Office Works and Meeting Place for Elders
  • Anaiwan:  Tingha Town Hall Refurbishment
  • Balranald:  Extension and restoration of the historic Balranald Aboriginal Cemetery
  • Broken Hill:  Broken Hill LALC Office Infrastructure Upgrade
  • Goodooga:  Erect Safety Fencing and demolish three LALC-owned buildings under Brewarrina Shire Council orders
  • Ashford:  The Ashford Global Cottage
  • Birpai:  Christmas Bells Plains: Clean-up and Weed Eradication
  • Bunyah Bunyah:  LALC Camden Haven Land Management Hub Development
  • Narrandera:  Children's Access Centre
  • Glen Innes:  Upgrade Culture Camp Accommodation and Amenities


Approved Grants for the 2016 Round

  • Armidale LALC:  Ancillary work for the Mt Yarrowyck Nature Reserve Schedule 14 negotiations
  • Bathurst LALC:  Bathurst LALC office infrastructure upgrade
  • Birrigan Gargle LALC:  Beautification and restoration of Pippi Beach community
  • Brungle Tumut LALC:  Purchase equipment for land management
  • Collarenebri LALC:  Construction of a toilet facility at the Collarenebri Aboriginal Burial Ground for local families and visitors
  • Coonabarabran LALC:  Boundary fencing at Burra Bee Dee Mission and Happy Valley Fringe Camp
  • Cummeragunja LALC:  Cummeragunja Community Hall
  • Dorrigo LALC:  Restoration of North Dorrigo Hall and land maintenance
  • Griffith LALC:  Old Griffith Police Station upgrade project
  • Hay LALC:  Hay LALC community space upgrade
  • Menindee LALC:  Menindee LALC office infrastructure upgrade
  • Moree LALC:  Preserving Aboriginal cultural heritage and environmental values through land management
  • Murrin Bridge LALC:  Barooga Karrai kickstart
  • Ngulingah LALC:  Cubbawee infrastructure project
  • Tibooburra LALC:  Tibooburra LALC Museum and Keeping Place expansion
  • Trangie LALC:  Trangie LALC vacant land management project
  • Warren Macquarie LALC:  Linking the Beemunnel Aboriginal Reserve, Tiger Bay Wetlands and the Window on the Wetlands Centre
  • West Wyalong LALC:  Aboriginal Artefacts Museum
  • Wilcannia LALC:  Wilcannia LALC Community Centre
  • Yaegl LALC:  Ulugundahi Island restoration project
  • Young LALC:  Young LALC refurbishment and renovations


Approved Grants for the 2015 Round

  • Amaroo LALC:  Land management at Summervale Reserve
  • Anaiwan LALC:  Reconnect to country: Old Bottom
  • Baradine LALC:  Calooma Station Restoration Project
  • Bega LALC:  Managing our lands: Access control
  • Biraban LALC:  Biraban Aboriginal-owned lands access diversion project
  • Broken Hill LALC:  BHLALC office infrastructure upgrade
  • Dareton LALC:  Namatjira Reserve land management program
  • Jubullum LALC:  Jubullum Village roads project
  • Orange LALC:  Balandha - Shadforth community access project
  • Trangie LALC:  Trangie cultural centre for education, history and heritage
  • Wagonga LALC:  Paradise Point: Sharing our culture and heritage, Stage 2
  • Weilwan LALC:  Cultural gathering space and Gulargambone Old Reserve land management
  • Wellington LALC:  Purchase of Nanima Primary School to establish 'Nanima Education and Wellbeing Centre' and remove asbestos.